Undying love: keep#Writephoto

Pc- Sue Vincent

“For visually challenged writers, the image shows the ruined tower of a castle, seen through the cross-shaped window of another tower.”

The picture immediately reminded me of the supreme love saga of Shahjahan and Mumtaz mahal where the old emperor was house arrested by his own son Aurangzeb in his last days. Shahjahan while in his captivity at Agra fort, used to see Taj Mahal from his window and crave for his lost love. Though Tajmahal is a mausoleum but it’s the ultimate embodiment of undying love and one of the seven wonders of the world!!

Here’s my take on the prompt:-

“House arrested by my own son

After a coup

I watch you confined from these remains in my dotage

As you lie there in deep peaceful sleep my beloved!

Your mausoleum gives me breath

In these last days of bereavement!

My last wish is to recite the kalma

And my body interred next to you

In love and peace,

My beloved wife!!

I’m ruined here, in tattered health and spirits

But these cracks in the tower

Let me look at you,

In this full moon night

When your beauty and grace still shines in grandeur!

I’m inconsolable and broken

But my love will live forever!

My Undying marital devotion

Will live through your mausoleum!

It will be an emperors love in those living stones!!”

Written for:- Thursday photo prompt: keep #Writephoto

Published by Daisy

I write whenever ideas crunch and overwhelme me! It's my reaction outpour.

6 thoughts on “Undying love: keep#Writephoto

Leave a comment