Silver Birch Press

DaisyMiller
Daisy is me!
by Daisy Bala

Charismatic and day’s eye like the sun,
I have shone in my world of liberation in anonymity, just like her.
I am poised too, integrated with innocence but not flirtatious to the extent of being vulgar like her.
I don’t bloom with winterbourne genre because I am the sun-fed one.
I will be spirited with repartee; don’t slander me for breaking social conventions.
Rumpus here and there has always targeted women with stigmas,
But I shall not admit this one. This daisy shall bloom!

NOTE FROM THE AUTHOR: I read about Henry James’ novella, Daisy Millerand was instantly shaken by the beauty of the protagonist and the end she meets with. Since time immemorial women have been subjected to social stigmas and character assassinations–facing harsh judgment if they don’t follow social mores. Like her, in my younger years I was fresh and crisp…

View original post 73 more words

